08
Dec
11

51 and flying!

What a whirlwind.  Is it a dream?  After playing in bars for 30 years, and waiting, and waiting to get my break…has it just arrived at age 51?

I recently (2 weeks before the announcement of my nomination), had a meeting with some big wigs in N.Y. in the music biz.

The reason for the meeting was because I performed at a party, and one of the folks there was an entertainment lawyer.  He said, “Wow, you really are great.  Maybe our firm can help.”

When I met with his partner, I told him my life story, he was very nice…and then another guy showed up.  Big suit.

So he starts drilling me.  And asks stuff like, “Well, ya know you aren’t young.  What do you think you are going to do with this?  (Talking about my album)…  (And I wouldn’t have known I wasn’t young if he hadn’t told me. So informative!)

I said, “It’s a pretty good album”.

He says, “That doesn’t matter.  You won’t be able to get anywhere.  It doesn’t matter how good it is.”  He kind of snickered at me.

I said, “You haven’t even listened to it yet”.

He repeats, “It could be the best album in the world, and it doesn’t matter”.

Apparently, my age trumped any consideration of talent.

I was so over talking to this guy.  And they said they have business to talk about, so….like scram. (not in so many words.)  But I was dismissed.

I had brought an album with me, thinking it would come in handy for this meeting.

And I don’t know why I even gave it to him.  But I did.  I said, why don’t you listen to it…

He gave me his card, and I threw it away after I left.

Driving back to Jersey that night, I started to cry.  Maybe it’s because my hormones are loopy right now.  The Emotional Jukebox was an Emotional Train Wreck!

But I was more angry with myself for giving him my CD.  I worked very hard to make it. 3,000 hours at least.  Not something to give away.

But guess what?  I’m not angry anymore!  In fact, I am ecstatic!  I can’t tell you how good this nomination feels!

This picture was taken at the post office today, as I mail out EMOTIONAL JUKEBOX to folks that have been purchasing it since the news.

Get em' while they're hot! I'll even sign em!


6 Responses to “51 and flying!”


  1. 1 mrjspoons
    December 8, 2011 at 9:41 PM

    I was looking through the Grammy nominations, as I always do, fast forwarding to the Folk/Americana to see if anyone I knew or really loved was nominated, and as I looked through the list, I said “Who the fuck is Linda Chorney?” Being in the company you’re in, I googled you, found you, decided to follow your blog because it’s such a great story. And I’m a New Jersey native (born in Somerville, also lived in New Brunswick, Hoboken, Morristown.)

    I’m out of work at the moment and planning on buying your CD when I get a little ahead after the first of the year. Enjoying following your story – it’s inspiring. I’m 49 – together we’re 100! Congrats and keep the faith.

  2. December 9, 2011 at 8:30 AM

    You’re only as old (or young) as you feel. Screw those people, they’re what’s wrong with the music industry anyway. I’m 48 and I plan to keep rockin’ till I’m 85…or longer. Congratulations on your nomination.

  3. 3 tristamshandy
    December 9, 2011 at 5:26 PM

    I remember a conversation I once had in LA with a music industry AR woman about 15 years ago. She said that basically they’d never do a recording deal with an artist or band over the age of 23 or 24. Her rationale was that, like, 85% of new music is bought by kids between the ages of 13 and 25. Apparently, once you get to your thirties, you listen to the same shit for the rest of your life– the stuff you grew up on–so there’s no money in selling to grown-ups. And she went on to say that kids only listen to kids, basically. So, the record company invests a few million dollars into getting your first recordings promoted and, typically, it’ll take a few recordings to catch on, if you ever do catch on at all. And, even if you got a hit the first time out, you could be a few years older before you get your second one to hit and so the clock is ticking against your career the whole time. She seemed to think that only artists who became megastars early on in their careers ever had the staying power and audience loyalty to keep on selling songs to the same audience into middle age. When I said that, at the age of 37, I still bought new music, had eclectic tastes, etc., she said I was totally atypical and that nobody would ever make any money trying to sell music to people like me. Harsh logic and I am glad to see the music industry’s monopolistic fascism crumbling under today’s DIY downloadable ethic.


Leave a comment


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Linda Chorney


All things that are CHORNEY

Linda Chorney Schedule

December 2011
S M T W T F S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031