09
Mar
17

SHEN YAWN – I MEAN YUN

What a fucking disappointment! I want my money back! DO NOT WASTE YOURS. I could have seen Bill Maher for less!!!  I was really excited, especially after all of the hype about this show. I saw the Shanghai Acrobats in Shanghai, and I figured it would be as impressive, slash, mind-blowing, and I’d splurge, since I’d saved the airfare. Okay. It’s not that they are not a talented bunch. But it was a bunch of money for a bunch of schlocky dances done over and over again. I imagined “One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest” patients getting their meds, and being sedated by this shit.

CUCKOO;S

“Hey Dad, let’s get out of here!” I said, after the first half. Some Chinese lady (who looked kind of official) said, “Oh you’re leaving? The second half is much more exciting.” I said, “Well, why didn’t they just make the first half exciting, then?”

I should have read some of the reviews beforehand. I’m not alone in my reaction.  Within these negative comments, they mentioned the political commentary being a bummer. I, on the other hand, did not mind that at all. I thought it was ballsy that they were making a statement about the inhumane treatment in China.  But there were barely any balls in the performance. Yeah, there was one bit with yellow flowers that was cool, but you got it in about 10 minutes, and all I could think about was going to eat some dumplings.

Lastly, they have this step and repeat backdrop where they interview folks that are dazzled by this…thing. I say, booooooo!  Boo How.  (That’s actually Chinese for bad! 坏的)


0 Responses to “SHEN YAWN – I MEAN YUN”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Linda Chorney


All things that are CHORNEY

Linda Chorney Schedule

March 2017
S M T W T F S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031