20
Jul
15

twitter, numbers, “liking”, and bullshit

I feel like everyone – well – I – spin my wheels for nothing while gathering twitter followers. The fact that your worth is weighed by how many followers you have – well – is bullshit. (Well, actually my husband, Scott, gathers the followers, and even tweets on my behalf sometimes, which causes an argument. That is another story.)

Who are these people? Are they just other people spinning their wheels, so they have more numbers? Are they Russian hookers? Scammers? Terrorists? Or just people like me. And as far as some of the celebs, are they really tweeting? Or do they have a staff that handles their stuff?

I’m sure some of the comedians use their own words. I want to tweet when I have something…well…clever to say. (Or just a pissed off rant, limited to 140 characters, trying to right a wrong.) Not just pushing my music on the world. Sure, I’d like more people to hear my music, read my blogs, read my book, watch my TED talk, but the world is saturated! And who are all of these other people? Do they care what you are saying? I would say the majority don’t. Why? They just want you to follow them back and get more NUMBERS of followers. I want to follow people who have something to say. To make me think, or laugh. CONTENT.

I know I am guilty of judging. I see someone with 100,000 followers and think, “Wow. This guy must be important. Ooh. I hope he follows me, and maybe retweets my stuff to 100,000.”

And then you have random people asking you to like their Facebook page. I don’t even know who the fuck you are! For what reason should I like you? Oh. Because I’m just a nice person, so I’ll do it for a total stranger. And, well, I usually do. I think, “Sure, I’ll like you.” CLICK. But when it comes down to it, why is our entire society now just a popularity contest? Some of the coolest kids in school were not popular. It makes me want to pull out my hair!

twitter

This semi-rant all came about this morning when some guy in England was conversing with me,(Private messaging via twitter), telling me how he wrote a song in an hour. Did a video in an hour, and social media “liked” it. What the fuck does that mean? And why am I taking minutes of my LIFE to do this shit? (Well, again, it’s Scott doing most of it.)

So we had another fight, because he tweeted stuff again, about my career and my music, and, well, I don’t speak that way! I would never say it like that! Not that it was bad. It’s just not my voice. But then again, who gives a fuck? Who are these people? And do they even care?

I’m just disgusted. I’d rather spend my time being creative…creating quality…rather than looking for quantity. (Which is also why Scott is the one building my profile.) In my day, I’d have to walk 50 miles, barefoot in the snow to tweet. Just call me old fashioned, but I don’t like the bullshit.

You don’t have to like this.

6 Responses to “twitter, numbers, “liking”, and bullshit”


  1. July 20, 2015 at 10:31 AM

    Believe me, you’re not the only one who is disgusted with what social media has become and the fact that this society IS really just “one big popularity contest”. I’m disgusted too… and increasingly I’m just opting out of it for the most part. (You’re not alone… as the B-52’s once said: “There are thousands of others like you… others like you!”)

    Anyway, of course celebs have people doing their social media for them, but every so often they’ll pop in so you just never know. Hey, if I could pay someone to do mine I would. Enough of this media saturation and the never-ending quest to go viral. Ugh. Spare me. I was never popular in school and I’m not popular now… yeah, like at age 58 I needed Facebook to re-create the experience of junior freakin’ high school for me.

    You’re right, it is muy bullshit. And I see you can buy 10,000 followers on Twitter for only $29…

    – Craig

    • July 20, 2015 at 11:10 AM

      Thanks for reading…feeling…and letting me know there are others like me!

  2. July 20, 2015 at 10:44 AM

    Liking, retweeting, sharing are so 21st Century!
    They are literally the SECOND LEAST you can do (nothing will always be first, of course), but hitting a thumbs-up, or a directional arrow to retweet or share is right up there on the medals podium for apathetic, sympathetic and diabetic.

    You mean the Russians are still funding and fueling those separatists in the Ukraine? I gave a big thumbs up to that story/expose in the Christian Science Monitor on that, just the other day (!).
    That Donald Trump guy is still trashing veterans of the Mexican-American War? I shared that essay from Ken Burns’ Illustrated History of the World According to PBS! Do you mean to tell me nothing changed?
    Hey, I even starred and retweeted that note about the Pope and climate change. Because I’m a FARC, maybe that star didn’t count, huh?

    We’ve created cocoons with our technology. Instead of being tools to thrust us more into the world, we have used them to separate ourselves from one another and from nearly everything we once held dear. A neighborhood cleanup to gather refuse and recyclables? Can’t I just like a posting on FB calling for someone to do something about it and call it a day? Please ‘like’ this post, thanks!

    • July 20, 2015 at 11:12 AM

      Bill, meet Craig…Craig, meet Bill.

  3. July 20, 2015 at 4:09 PM

    Creators create, they rarely market themselves well..or manage their business well in fact. When they do its usually a massive success.
    It takes a team to create synergy, and great things just might happen if you let it happen..say maybe even a Grammy Nomination. The build it and they will come model is a fantasy, more like a tree falling in the woods. In this day and age you just might connect with the right person, inspire someone that would not ordinarily meet unless you were traveling around the world with your incredible talent using social media in the right way. There is no field of dreams. So I will remain optimistic as a marketer, work hard, using the latest technology and platform to bring creative, passionate, quality art to as many eyes and ears as I can. That’s my passion for someone I care for and support in many ways.

    In the mean time do what you have always done and bring the performance to the world. It has always been your best marketing tool, and it something that just can not be faked or replicated. When your audience experiences that performance, you make not just a fan but a friend, and they in turn are motivated to support your craft in many different ways. Dont you think this has been your experience from all your hard work?
    Your stage has just gotten a bit larger, and the show must go on… So “Do It While You Can”

  4. July 22, 2015 at 7:10 AM

    Reblogged this on Ahead Of These Blue Eyes.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Linda Chorney


All things that are CHORNEY

Linda Chorney Twitter

Facebook Fan Page

Linda Chorney Schedule

July 2015
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

