11
Oct
14

LIVE FROM HONG KONG

A couple of years ago, I met a very funny, nice guy from Hong Kong, while scuba diving in Micronesia. We have stayed in touch. He is always posting clever and humorous things on facebook.

Today he had commented on one of my posts, which led me to reach out to him and ask how life was. As it turns out, he was at the protest in Hong Kong that moment…so I asked him if I could share our conversation in a blog. I apologize for some of the redundant questions.

My dear friend Linda , please spread it out if you support us protecting HK. A touching song (is English in the latter part). Please. Thanks

《傘下奇蹟》When You Believe 中文版
http://www.youtube.com
2 hours ago
Hey XXX, how are you doing? Is it crazy over there?
HOw can I help? Maybe write a blog?

Yes, u are good writer support our spirit by articles is the best

This is a critical history in HK

May not happen again in a hundred years, everyone stick together peacefully and fight against government force. But no throwing rock, no a glass broken, no burning

We know how to seek for democracy by a peaceful way even the government used different devil action to destroy us.

But we are still safe

49 minutes ago
Perhaps we can Skype and I can interview you?

Ha, i dont have skype installed

Now police just arrested two students

We thousands of people following about a hundred of police, ask for release

But no fighting
are you there right now, protesting?!

Lots of photos in my fb pages about this umbrella revolution
(peacefully?)

Yes
wow. are you safe?

No fighting
can you take a couple of pictures and send them?

I am safe
good
no pepper spray?

Now no pepper spray
tell me exactly what you are protesting? I am pretty sure it is because of the election control?

Days before pepper spray and tear gas
Did they stop the pepper spraying?
was it an order?
…and the tear gas?
over?
Chinese Governemnt ordered it?

Theae 3 days stopped using those
tell me in your own words what you are protesting
please

Maybe chinese government or .,,but sure that is our hk adminstrator

For a real vote
yes. A democracy

According to our schedule, 2017, ppl should able to vote our adminstrator
what is “your administrator”?
like your governor?
and is it only young people protesting?
how is the weather?
are people there 24/7?

But, hk and china government only allow select two or three of their ppl for we citizen to vote

Say that it is already a democracy
I understand. And that is not a democracy, of course.
Do you think they will give in to your demands?

General ppl cannot be a candidate
And of course, that is what you want?

After tear gas, we also want our adminstrator down the stage
what does “down the stage” mean? I don’t understand the expression
And we are routing for you guys here in America
Was Hong Kong better when it was under UK?

And two days before, a news about our adminstrator, 2 years ago
HE received usd 7 millian from an Australia company

Corruption
Yes, of course there is corruption. I am sorry you are in this position

Down the stage .. = resign
I see. Thank you.
Is there an election coming soon?

Hk is clean on the last 20 years ruled by uk
And do you think there is hope to choose your own administrator of the people?

But these years corruptions more and more
Is HK not as clean now that UK is out?

The government, the officers… etc
and when you say “clean”, do you mean corrupt, or physically not clean…as in, pollution, trash, etc.
?

We don,t want to lose this cleaness of corruption

Clean = less corruption / no corruption
Is it young people protesting?

Fair play
What age groups are there?

Most are young, but old ppl also there when they after work, like me
Are you having fun?
is anyone singing?

The oldest is around 80
Or just holding signs?
Is the weather okay?
Are people there all day and night?

The youngest is 10 years old I seen
Has anyone been killed or hurt?

Young ppl all day and night
Are there any Chinese reporters/journalists – interviewing you?

Or shift

Sleeping on the road

Sleeping on road?
is it cold?

No reporter interview me
do they have sleeping bags?

Some
Reporter interview other people?
CHINESE reporters?

You know different areas
“Some” what? Have sleeping bags? Or are physically hurt?
can you take a picture???!!

The peak period, Total more than 100 thousands hk ppl in the streets and road

Would you get in trouble from the governemt, or your employment if your name was published in the conversation with me?

Can you take a selfee, too?
Is there a leader of your protest, who is communicating with the Chinese Governement?
Are people angry?
Are they scared?

At this moment may not be trouble, bit in future, who knows
Do they feel afraid of the police with the tear gas, violence…etc…?

Ppl angry bit not violent
do the police use batons?

And brave

NPt yet ..boins
Yes.
We admire what you are doing…peacefully

Botons
I hope you make some progress!
batons – have they used them to hit people?

Not cold , autumn

Batons
Yup
I wish I could help.
I am sorry you have to fight for such a simple right for democracy
It is not fair.


What do you do for work?

Waitt
ok
give me selfee!!

Bank
ARe the bankers for this protest?
Would you get in trouble if they knew you were at protest?

and what does the sign mean in the picture with the white banner?

This is one of a touching songs

The latter part is English
Do you think the Chinese Governement will give in?

And have lot of views of the protest
change?
Do the people at the bank support the protest???
Do you think you’re being monitored on Facebook?

White banner, ask the adminstrator Mr Leung to resign
OK…

Not all ppl support this

Some support , some not

Could you lose your job by protesting????

Live
1) Can you take picture of yourself and your friends, now, and send to me?
2) Would you get in trouble if your name was in my blog? I do not have to use it – or a picture. I would not want to get you in trouble.

FB ,monitor by china government,, not surprise
3) Can the bank make you resign for being at protest..?
I will copy our conversation and put it in the blog. Good luck!!!
We are routing for your democracy here in the U.S.

But at this moment, hk law can still able to protect us in a certain extent
meaning = you cannot get fired from job?
what do you do at the bank?

Use Mr.Lam only family name may not be trouble

Not fired by the bank
okay.

We still have this freedom in these years
Can I say that we met scuba diving in micronesia?
to say how I know you?
I won’t say spefically where…

I do businness support manager in foreign exchange systems in the bank

But just upper half

Is it fine enough ?

Sure.
You are such a funny, humorous guy…too bad you need to be serious now.
You made us laugh alot on our scuba trip!
I hope to meet you again soon!

Pls listen to the song and watch the video, i feel touching about it, the latter part of the song is english

Please tell your friends around you that we are thinking of you with admiration.
…and caring
be safe, my friend.

U too. Take care

U too. Take care
Tsi Chien
(That is my bad spelling of my limited Chinese!)

Chat Conversation End
Sent from Messenger

THese are great!

《傘下奇蹟》When You Believe 中文版: http://youtu.be/QRSp0IzXWrc
can you take picture of yourself?
and what does the sign mean in the picture with the white banner?

This is one of a touching songs

The latter part is English
Do you think the Chinese Governement will give in?

And have lot of views of the protest
change?
Do the people at the bank support the protest???
Do you think you’re being monitored on Facebook?

White banner, ask the adminstrator Mr Leung to resign
OK…

Not all ppl support this

Some support , some not
Yes – like corrupt people.
in the bank?
support – or not?
Could you lose your job by protesting????
I just would like a few more questions answered. THen I have to go. And I wish you much luck.

Live
1) Can you take picture of yourself and your friends, now, and send to me?
2) Would you get in trouble if your name was in my blog? I do not have to use it – or a picture. I would not want to get you in trouble.

FB ,monitor by china government,, not surprise
3) Can the bank make you resign for being at protest..?
I will copy our conversation and put it in the blog. Good luck!!!
We are routing for your democracy here in the U.S.

But at this moment, hk law can still able to protect us in a certain extent
meaning = you cannot get fired from job?
what do you do at the bank?

Use Mr.Lam only family name may not be trouble

Not fired by the bank
okay.

We still have this freedom in these years
Can I say that we met scuba diving in micronesia?
to say how I know you?
I won’t say spefically where…
and I guess you don’t want to send me a selfee of you at the protest now?

I do businness support manager in foreign exchange systems in the bank

I sent
I didn’t get it.

The last pic

But just upper half
very dark. Could not see your face.

Is it fine enough ?
at all
no.
I can’t see you at all
try again?
You are such a funny, humorous guy…too bad you need to be serious now.
You made us laugh alot on our scuba trip!
I hope to meet you again soon!

The street is dark
I see you now. Very serious….

Thank you
no flash?
Now you are making me hungry for chinese food!!!

Pls listen to the song and watch the video, i feel touching about it, the latter part of the song is english

My phone , front camera has no flash
You make the sad, crying face. I am sorry this is so serious. You are an awesome guy!
Please tell your friends around you that we are thinking of you with admiration.
…and caring
be safe, my friend.

U too. Take care

U too. Take care
Tsi Chien
(That is my bad spelling of my limited Chinese!)

HK 1HK 2HK 3HK 4HK 5HK 7HK 8HK 9HK 10HK 11HK 12HK 13

0 Responses to “LIVE FROM HONG KONG”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Linda Chorney


All things that are CHORNEY

Linda Chorney Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Linda Chorney Schedule

October 2014
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

