15
Apr
14

PEOPLE STILL BELIEVE IN GOD AFTER EVENTS THE LIKE BOSTON BOMBING, 911, HOLOCAUST?

I am really not using the 1 year anniversary of the Boston Bombing as an excuse, or platform to push my beliefs. It’s just what I can’t get out of my head. What I still can’t comprehend. Sorry.

After a brilliant eclipse of the moon last night, which I am sure some will explain as God’s work, I woke this morning remembering the tragedy in Boston. (Like just about everyone else.)

Yesterday I woke to a new tragedy in Kansas City, where three innocent people were gunned down by a lunatic idiot, and 72 people were killed by a bomb in Nigeria.

Every loss of life is equal and tragic. (Except for the fucking dinglenut assholes who cause them. Let them die and suffer.)

Of course it is much harder to see when a young person is robbed of life, like Martin Richards. (The 8 year old boy who lost his life in the Boston Marathon.)

As humans, as it turns out, we feel.

I felt so much anguish over this total unnecessary loss, that I wrote a song for Martin….called “Martin”. This blog is also not a launching pad to share my song.

And if I wrote a song over every violent act and death, my albums would be almost as depressing as they are already from break-ups.  (too soon?)

Back to my title.

How do people still believe in God after events like Boston Bombing, 911, and the Holocaust?

Yeah, yeah, “faith”.

Well, I don’t have any.

You know what I believe in?  The goodness of PEOPLE. (Yeah, yeah, made in “God’s image”)

God’s image, my ass. If that is the case, no wonder we are a violent society, full of psychopaths. According to the bible, (Oh shit. I forgot to capitalize bible. Watch out for the lightening…pause…I’m still here!) God has done some pretty, pretty fucked-up things that I wouldn’t want written about me.

Again, I’m not trying to preach here. This morning my objective was to pay my respects, once again, to the families of those who lost their loved ones, or suffered during the Boston Marathon. I am so sorry this happened to you and our city. (I grew up there.)

Last night when I looked at that spectacular eclipse, I wasn’t thinking “Wow, this is another one of God’s creations.” I was thinking, it totally sucks that Martin Richards will never get to see this.

Given to Martin's family from me, all of those people who downloaded my song, "Martin", and painted by David Wells Roth..a person.

Given to Martin’s family from me, all of those people who downloaded my song, “Martin”, and David Wells Roth..a person, and the painter…who’s sister was murdered by a bat shit crazy fuckface in the woods of New Hampshire, years ago.

Anyone can write a puff piece to make everyone feel all warm and sentimental with beautiful stories. And there are many.

What’s my point?

When are people going to just believe in themselves enough where they don’t need the crutch of believing in a God? (Yeah, yeah, your God…the only one.  Oh! And your’s, too. How silly of me.)

MY heart goes out to all of the victims. MY love is felt for them, and the world. MY actions try to make a difference.

I read a post, ironically, this morning, from someone I wrote about this week, Clarence Clemons, III.

It read, “Where is God when you need him?”

My response? “We are our own gods. We are all are own universe. It’s within you to have the power you seek.”

 

I’m not trying to be Yoda, or anything. It’s just my opinion. And there were tons of Godish Pep talk comments, and quotes from the Bible. (I’m not trying to be disrespectful when I roll my eyeballs. Did God make me do that?)  I’m hearing Geraldine, AKA Flip Wilson, in my head, from Laugh-In. “The devil made me do it”….question mark.

"The Devil made me do it."

“The Devil made me do it.”

I understand when people feel so low, they feel they have nowhere to turn, so they do the S.O.P.

But, the S.O.P, “It’s all in God’s plan…everything happens for a reason”, is complete bullshit.

Shit happens for NO REASON…other than the reason that some people are totally fucked in the head, and do really stupid things. (i.e., God is stupid, if man is made in his image.) (At least women aren’t!)

Those kids were fucking stupid who planted the bomb in Boston a year ago. And Idiots who strap bombs to their bodies in the name of God are fucking morons. And people who try to wipe out an entire race are evil.

Of course I grew up believing in God, because that is what I was taught. But as early as my twenties, I said, “Hold the Bus” when I was not comprehending the day-to-day tragedies I’d hear about on the News.

I guess….I resent religion. I think it fucks up the world. Yeah, yeah, religious organizations do really good things. No. PEOPLE DO GOOD THINGS.

Thank you, people. Thank you, nature. Thank you, the tangible. (I couldn’t actually touch the moon last night, but I saw it, and it touched me!) And MY heart goes out to Boston today, and to all people who could not see this moon, because their lives were robbed by stupid people.  (My heart, along with “prayers”,  won’t bring them back. How’s that for a puff piece?)

ECLIPSE SCOTT FADYNICH

 

 

 

6 Responses to “PEOPLE STILL BELIEVE IN GOD AFTER EVENTS THE LIKE BOSTON BOMBING, 911, HOLOCAUST?”


  1. April 15, 2014 at 9:14 AM

    I tend to fluctuate between Randy Newman’s God’s Song and Joan Osborne’s What If God Were One of Us? without ever feeling comfortable anywhere on either, and closest when most uncomfortable with a philosophic cheek, so to speak, on each chair.

    I was raised a Roman Catholic but I’ve despaired of the faith of my fathers and miss, deeply, not having the reassurance of the ritual to help heal the holes that hurt. I used to avoid, in anger, those people of faith, then I went through a phase where I pitied them (and made myself feel superior) and now I envy them their safety and security.

    I’d like to believe in a Great Clock Maker but the universe from my perspective is more car crash than clock work. Leaving me, perhaps, to dip my toe into your pool of faith (in other people rather than in any form of a Hairy Muffin or Cosmic Thunderer (thanks! NatLamp!) and struggle through anoher day takig solace, based on your words, that I’m not the only one who wonders as he wanders.

    • April 15, 2014 at 11:39 AM

      I’ll tell you what, Bill Kenny, you have a gift for words. Your writing is superb…(sans typos…which I am so guilty) It makes ME feel good that my words touch you, and yours touch mine. That’s being human. You are one of the good ones!

  2. April 15, 2014 at 12:12 PM

    In the category of “For what it is worth…”

    We are, often, mesmerized by the car wreck at the expense of recognizing and appreciating the incredible goodness of people. Whether or not you believe in God, I choose to, or not, it is apparent to me that great goodness always rises to face down evil. If you look at something on as grand a scale as the holocaust or something as localized as the Kansas City shootings, the goodness of people always rises above it. Mostly, this comes in unheralded and quiet ways, so it does not make the splash that our overly sensationalized senses now require. Our need for “reality television” conflict and our voyeuristic attraction to big explosions pushes the trillions of acts of generosity by people all over the world off the news desk.

    I have had the privilege of working with some very courageous and brave people in Iraq and Afghanistan over the past decade; some of the most conflict-ridden areas of the world. I have found great goodness, kindness, and generosity in places where external peace seems elusive. The thousands of acts of daily generosity of our soldiers, often at great personal risk, is lost in the headlined stories of corruption and the evil acts of a few. We see in the headlined stories of those who would impose their belief systems on others through violence, but ignore the young Iraqi medical and dental students, and other professionals who venture out into their communities to volunteer their time in orphanages and other places of need. Because of the psychological impact of decades of tyrannical and brutal dictatorship, their parents would never have been able to move too far beyond a trusted and tight-knit few family members and friends. These who have grown up in an Internet-rich connection to the rest of the world have an expanded trust of the wider world and respond in very human and generous ways.

    I do not see the world through rose-colored glasses. Indeed, I often become discouraged as I talk with my good Iraqi and Afghan friends and realize the very difficult lives they are living and the herculean efforts we will need to exert to solve substantive problems. I find, however, great reason to hope for a better world, imperfect as that might still be. I spent the day yesterday participating as a facilitator for two groups of ten high school students at the World Food Prize Iowa Youth Institute. Students chose a country, researched the poverty and hunger challenges in their chosen country, and proposed solutions. I was inspired by their desire to make the world a better place and their curiosity for solutions. So, I am optimistic that we can continue to make strides toward a better world. For another ray of hope, read the Gates Foundation 2014 Annual Letter where Bill Gates dispels some the prevalent myths that lead us to think we are not making progress in real and meaningful ways. (http://annualletter.gatesfoundation.org/)

    As to my faith, I will only say this. I find it much more difficult to believe that there is not some plan for all that happens in this world. You may call it a crutch. I call it experience. My religious beliefs, however, require that I do good in the world, as best I can. Our real beliefs are manifested through our actions. If you want to know where someone’s priorities are, you need look no further than their behavior. So, if I preach a good sermon on Sunday, but do not do what I can to help my neighbor during the week, my words are empty and I was not really religious, after all. True religion, I believe, looks like this:

    “I don’t want to drive up to the pearly gates in a shiny sports car, wearing beautifully, tailored clothes, my hair expertly coiffed, and with long, perfectly manicured fingernails. I want to drive up in a station wagon that has mud on the wheels from taking kids to scout camp. I want to be there with a smudge of peanut butter on my shirt from making sandwiches for a sick neighbor’s children. I want to be there with a little dirt under my fingernails from helping to weed someone’s garden. I want to be there with children’s sticky kisses on my cheeks and the tears of a friend on my shoulder. I want the Lord to know I was really here and that I really lived.”
    ― Marjorie Pay Hinckley

    rick

    • April 15, 2014 at 8:34 PM

      Right on, Rick. Thanks for sharing. We see many things the same way. Good is good. evil is evil. And none are necessarily synonymous with religion.

  3. 5 Trevor Scott
    April 15, 2014 at 6:29 PM

    A great read, once again Linda saying it the way many of us would like to.

    Love ya work.

    Trevor Scott

    5RM Breakfast Show Host

    Riverland Radio

    5RM | Magic931 | Kix Country |

    T: (08) 8582 1800 | F: (08) 8582 3140 | M: 0409 588 568 |

    Grant Broadcasters Logo_RGB

    Wollongong NSW | Nowra/Bowral NSW | Muswellbrook NSW | Bega NSW

    Geelong VIC | Ballarat VIC | Mildura VIC | Bendigo VIC

    Riverland SA | Murray Bridge SA | Port Augusta SA | Port Pirie SA | Port Lincoln SA | Roxby Downs SA

    Hobart TAS | Launceston/Scottsdale TAS | Devonport TAS | Burnie TAS | Queenstown TAS

    Ipswich QLD | Bundaberg QLD | Darwin NT

    Disclaimer: This email may be confidential and/or privileged. If you are not the intended recipient of this email, you must not disclose or use the information contained in it. Please notify the sender and delete this document if you have received it in error. We do not guarantee this email is error or virus free

    • April 15, 2014 at 8:35 PM

      Gooday Trevor. Been almost a decade? Have to get back down under and visit the logical. The country where both parties agree that guns are fucking stupid. (And some people) But most are good! X,O Linda


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Linda Chorney


All things that are CHORNEY

Linda Chorney Twitter

Facebook Fan Page

Linda Chorney Schedule

April 2014
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

