14
Apr
14

YOU CAN CARRY A GUN, BUT YOU CAN’T CARRY A BEER? “The Cantina” My newest song!

You heard right. That’s the law in Arizona, and the motivation for writing “The Cantina”. And now my vision is coming to life for the song!! What a blast…and a lot of work.

TIME: High Noon Sunday

I am so excited that I am going out of my tree! Today is the beginning of the project! I am anxiously waiting for the Mariachi band to show up at my house! I’m serving bagels and….salsa?

Mariachi Sol Azteca is coming to rehearse, with full costume for a photo shoot, going in Zocalo Magazine! I cannot thank them enough for stepping up to the plate to keep me within my budget. So this is phase 1. (And of course, thank Zocalo Magazine for covering my book and the song!)

Phase 2 will be rehearsing with the “cowboys”. This song will cross over between 2 musical cultures that are very prominent in Arizona. It’s a new venture for me. Out of my tree!

Now I must prepare the brunch. Musicians love to eat!

TIME: Sundown Sunday

My mouth still hurts from smiling! We were given a private serenade in our backyard, by the most charming Mariachis! This is just half of the band, but Mariachi Sol Azteca are full of personality and talent. I feel so lucky that Maria Powell introduced us.

They showed up in 3 cars and a Harley. We did a rehearsal. And I cannot wait to lay down the tracks! Phase 1 is complete! Very special thanks to band leader, Angel Guzman.

(From L to R)  Me, Jessie Rojas, Angel Durran, Ramon Munoz, Chris Barr, Many Celaya

(From L to R) Me, Jessie Rojas, Angel Durran, Ramon Munoz, Chris Barr, Many Celaya

 

Sneak Preview!

 

Next step, lead guitarist, Michael P. Nordberg

Michael P. Nordberg Lead Guitar

Michael P. Nordberg
Lead Guitar

And bassist, Phillip Anderson, rehearsal.

Phillip ANderson

Professor Phillip Anderson on da bass

Recording on April 27-28-29th, with Engineer/co-producer, Brian Phillips. My right hand man for “Martin” in Boston. He’s flying in from L.A.

Then meeting with film director Harry Findysz!

After that, meeting with Bona Fide Stunt Man, leading man in video, James Lovin!

My leading Stunt Muffin! JAMES LOVIN

My leading Stunt Muffin! JAMES LOVIN

He’s gonna fall for me!

Ahhhhh!

Ahhhhh!

I hope y’all fall for the song! Come see me perform it live at Tucson Folk Festival, La Cucina, on May 3rd, and May 10th at Hacienda Del Sol. Perhaps with surprise guests!

1 Response to “YOU CAN CARRY A GUN, BUT YOU CAN’T CARRY A BEER? “The Cantina” My newest song!”


  1. May 5, 2014 at 10:43 AM

    Sure enjoyed the performance at the Folk Festival. Loved the “sure wish I had some mariachis…”. Great song, looking forward to the video!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Linda Chorney


All things that are CHORNEY

Linda Chorney Schedule

April 2014
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

