10
Apr
14

Who should be accepting the award for Clarence Clemons tonight at Rock and Roll H.O.F?

Will the real acceptor please stand up. My vote? One of the Big Man’s little men. One of his children. His own blood.

Tonight Clarence Clemons will finally have his earned spot in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. A bit late. It would have been nice if he was still around to get the honor.

But because he is not, apparently, there is a rule in place, where the current wifeepoo of any rock star is the one allocated to take the award. I’m not sure if I agree with that. Of course, I am not on the committee, or a member of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, so who am I to say?

I’m just saying, in general, unless a marriage has lasted a decade…(none of which mine have)…and if the spouse is a couple of decades the junior…even younger than said rock stars’ children…well, is that the most appropriate person?

Okay. It’s irrelevant. Age difference, and even length of time one has been hitched doesn’t necessarily measure the amount of love and committment. But in a case, where a 5th wife, for less than two years, is the candidate, if I were her, I would graciously reach out to the family members (who have known, lived, breathed, suffered, loved, and lost their Dad) and ask them to accept the award. Just sayin’.

Clarence has four sons. Even considering his manager of 20 years, Darlene Delano, might have been appropriate? A client manager relationship is kind of like a marriage, too.

The inspiration for this blog came when I read a very passionate facebook post written by The Big Man’s name sake, and first son, Clarence Anicholas Clemons the III. (Father of Clarence Ayden Clemons the IV.) It was a cry of pain. (Yeah, I know, judgemental skeptics whipping out their tiny violins…or saxaphones in this case. How do you know what it’s like to be in those shoes?) He was very disappointed to not be the one to accept his Dad’s award. And in fact, until yesterday, he was told to purchase his own ticket to go to the event. I don’t blame him for feeling hurt and disrespected.

I gave “Nick” a call to see if I got the situation right, and if I could help get the truth out to the public, because personally, I don’t have great faith in a lot of the press. Misquotes, things taken out of context, other agendas, etc. And I felt empathy. Nick and I did a New Year’s show together a couple of years ago. He has a passion for music, like his dad.

The emotion poured out. I think I just caught him at the climax of his frustration. He told me many things in confidence. But I can share a few tidbits.

Let’s just say that being the kid of a traveling musician/rock star, is not all one might think it is cracked up to be. He refers to his “battle scars”.

Looking back at his childhood, Nick said, “Take the love while you can.”  He admits that he wasn’t a saint, but had to do a lot to survive, while his Dad wasn’t around.

After hearing many, many stories, I said, “You should write a friggin’ book!”  He said, “I am!” I can promise you will not be bored if you read it.
Then one quote struck me in particular, and it made me want to cry.

“I loved my Dad when he wasn’t playing with Bruce. When he was with the band, everything went to shit.”

But Nick also understands the rare gift his father has (always); and was selfless enough to donate and share his own personal memorabilia for fans to enjoy, to the Rock and Roll H.O.F. in Cleveland, Ohio.

It has to be difficult to be the kid of one of the most world renowned icons of a band…The E Street Band. (Also, finally being inducted, as well as Linda Ronstadt.) And to be bugged for literally thousands of tickets from any Tom, Dick or Harry acquaintance year after year, tour after tour, is exhausting, according to Nick.

And it has to be even more difficult being, not even on the side lines, or backstage, but out in the audience, with a ticket that was finally given to Clarence Clemons III, one day before the ceremony, to watch a virtual stranger accept the award for his Dad’s work.

Anyway, I think it’s a dumb rule. What do you think?

(Nick just sent me this photo, that quite frankly, made me cry. It’s such a beautiful photo. He is sharing it with all of you.)
clarence and nick-2

 

I am so sorry for your loss, Nick. And may I extend condolences to your family, his wives, his fans, and all who loved your Dad.

But also,

CONGRATULATIONS FOR THE LIFE OF WORK YOUR FATHER, CLARENCE CLEMONS II, HAS GIVEN AND IS BEING RECOGNIZED FOR, TONIGHT! YOU MUST BE PROUD.

And this fiasco is just another great story you can add to your book. Trust me! Go represent and have a blast!

5 Responses to “Who should be accepting the award for Clarence Clemons tonight at Rock and Roll H.O.F?”


  1. April 10, 2014 at 3:05 PM

    So I’m gonna have a companion piece on my bookshelf alongside of yours, “Who the F$%& Is Nick Clemons”? Well, f$%& me. Waitaminit! I should write a book, too! 😉

  2. April 11, 2014 at 11:42 AM

    Bill Kenny, Nick Clemons is a nice real person with feelings and life disapointments. Son of the Big Man! But you already knew that. I know that I will be buying his book while yours sits in the dollar bin at half off!!!!

    • April 11, 2014 at 12:16 PM

      Thanks for the comment, Lori. You might not be as familiar with my work, as the witty Bill Kenny. He was referring to the title of my book: “Who the F**k is Linda Chorney”. I can assure you it was no disrespect to Nick…on the contrary.

    • April 11, 2014 at 4:46 PM

      My apologies as my sense of humor, admittedly an acquired taste, was wide of the mark and caused upset. It was most certainly not my desire to denigrate or disrespect either Clarence or Nick Clemons.
      I do appreciate your kind optimism on estimating my life story’s retail price…it’s at least five times higher than anyone else might have ever suggested.

      • April 21, 2014 at 8:27 AM

        well I’m glad you clarified that Bill….. I took it the same way as Lori Did. and what happened that night at R&RHOF Induction was even more of a travesty. With Clarence’s wife only naming 2 of C’s 4 sons…I had previously heard things about her from people not in the family….. she proved in my mind what a heartless & selfish Bitch she is.

        Nick. I’ll be first in line for your book… and again sooooo sorry for what happened with this 😦

        Linda thx for sharing this. I’ve been away from FB quite a bit… heard stuff about this and didn’t even want to read about it because I was so upset over what happened that night 😦 Nor increase Nick’s pain further.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Linda Chorney


All things that are CHORNEY

Linda Chorney Twitter

Linda Chorney Schedule

April 2014
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

