30
Mar
14

You’re as old as you feel?

It’s not that I feel old. I just feel older.

The mirror is not my best friend. At least my eye-sight makes the blow less harsh. But we are our own worst critics.

And the sooner we accept that physically, youth disappears, the happier we will be, upstairs.

Ah, upstairs. Do we start thinking too much as we get older? Do we let things bother us more, or less, with the knowledge we have accumulated over the years? I can only speak for myself, but YES, YES, and YES.

Turning 50 was awesome. I still looked really good. Even at 51 I felt invincible. Then 52 was still not bad, but one year made a difference. Then 53, seemed a long way since 50. And the invincibility factor started to whither.

And tomorrow I will be 54, and for some reason, I think it’s the gateway to 60!

And, yes, I am seeing a difference. And it is depressing. There. I said it.

I’m as active as I ever was, but the pounds aren’t staying off the way they used to, like they did even last year!

And because I do have an ego about my physical appearance, I don’t want to accentuate the negative.

But I did it while I could!  And even wrote a song about it….Do it While You Can!

I went from filming videos in my bikini at age 46, to short shorts, to shorts 6 inches above the knee, to on the knee, to below the knee.

 

And I’ve gone from showing off my midriff, to sleeveless, to short sleeves, to shirts that only expose my elbows down. I’m just not used to seeing my body looking,…yucky.

BEFORE

BEFORE

Next year I’ll probably be wearing a burka.

BURKA

AFTER

 

 

Happy Fucking Birthday to me!

3 Responses to “You’re as old as you feel?”


  1. March 30, 2014 at 2:36 PM

    Happy birthday Linda, and send that burka to Abu Dhabi. Get into your bikini and lets go diving in Belize, or on the wrecks and reefs of Bermuda. Your still smokin hot, babe!!!

  2. March 30, 2014 at 2:52 PM

    First off, Happy Birthday!
    Another orbit ’round the sun, make a list of what you’ve done.
    Today’s not time for feeling blue, you’ve got so much you’ve yet to do.

    You’re only “old” when it takes you all night to do what you used to do all night.

    And while the mirror may be able to reflect the years you’ve aged, it can never capture the skills you’ve gained, the places you’ve been, the people whose lives you have touched and whose lives have been touched-all the means we have to measure a life well-lived. Enjoy the quality, that you can control, and leave the quantity, beyond your control. Love the life you lead and lead the life you love.
    All the best, always.
    Bill Kenny

  3. March 31, 2014 at 10:26 AM

    I know the feeling, trying to go out on Friday night. I felt like a big stuffed piggy. Scott says I am too hard on myself. Only two years older then you. I kept saying your music was healing me. I now can confirm that was real. My first time in a bar in Honolulu, been here since 1997. Your age is only a number as this bar had all ages. So I danced and had a n last. Listened to your music on my way home, top down, sound the best. Do it while you can. My new motto. Happy Birthday, be thankful you on the up side of earth. Aloha


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Linda Chorney


All things that are CHORNEY

Linda Chorney Twitter

Facebook Fan Page

Linda Chorney Schedule

March 2014
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

