18
Feb
14

My Mom has Cancer

Four words that change your life. Our family had escaped the experience of the C word until last year when I was told Mom had it.  Not my family! We never smoked! Wtf? I nearly collapsed.

Mom, on the other hand, was incredibly strong and positive. She’s unbelievable!

After bawling my eyes out, I adjusted to this new life our entire family now lives. How many families go through this? Too many. It’s like a private club, that you do not want to belong to. But once you are in, all of the members experience the same thing. And until you are a member, you have no clue.

I think everyone takes their families for granted. And health. Then once a Mom, Dad, Brother or Sister, son or daughter is struck by the biatch, all of a sudden, nothing is more important than getting them better. You drop everything.

Then life kind of goes on. I actually got used to getting news that it’s not over. Rather than collapsing, you deal. You have to. You have to be strong for the family, and especially for the family member fighting the beast. And it’s all about attitude, from what I have been told. Mom has the right one. She is determined to get that shit out of her body. She’s braver than any of our family!

And it seems that I come across more and more people who have had cancer…and beaten it!

They all say the same thing. They visualize the cancer, and then imagine a giant hammer, or a Pacman eating machine, or in my Trekkie Mom’s case, a phaser gun destroying the Klingon bastards.

Get 'em Mom!

Get ’em Mom!

My secondary reason for moving to Tucson was because I hate the cold weather. My primary reason was to be closer to my folks, as they are getting older, and they would eventually need me. As it turned out, THE DAY we had arrived with our rental truck, after driving cross-country from Jersey right after Superstorm Sandy, my Dad told me the news. I thought they might need me a couple of years down the line…but it was right away. Lots of bad news…only good news was at least the GW Bridge was clear!

So far my Mom has been through surgery, where they removed a tumor the size of a grapefruit from behind her heart. She discovered it getting a chest x-ray, because she felt pressure when she coughed.  A total fluke. The doctors thought they might get it all and she wouldn’t need the dreaded chemo.

Right after surgery, while we were feeling hopeful and optimistic, the doctor came out and said they could not get it all. They got 95%, but tentacles had attached themselves to her heart and lungs. She would need radiation. But no chemo!

After the radiation….she needed chemo.

After the chemo, she had another pet scan…and she needed more chemo.

She is allegedly done in 3 weeks, and then we have to wait another 3 months for another pet scan to see if it’s over.

Eat those cancer cells!

Eat those cancer cells!

Every time we are feeling optimistic that this nightmare is over….it’s not. And rather than bawling my eyes out, I am used to it. But I have not given up hope. I am still optimistic.

I go with her sometimes, and it’s a bit eerie in the room, and I feel so much compassion for everyone hooked up, although it is not a painful process.  But I can’t help but wonder if it will ever happen to me?

CHEMO

Is there a moral to this story? It seems like so many people are getting cancer. I see at least one facebook post a day. And it is predicted that cases will increase by 50%!

What the fuck is going on? Let me guess. The FDA approves shit that gives you cancer? Corporations are polluting our water and earth? The pharmaceutical companies and hospitals are profiting so greatly that there is no hurry to find a better solution than chemo?  That shit is poison! And no. I do not trust all doctors…or the government. But I think most doctors are really good.

But there was this one Doctor that suggested to my Mom after she had just gone through her surgery, and she picked up pneumonia, that she go back into surgery to determine what kind of pneumonia she had, by taking a chunk out of her.

I asked, “Well, can’t we treat what it most likely is with antibiotics, and then if that doesn’t work, try plan B? She has been through enough already!”

Doctor, “Well, we could do that.”

DUH!

She took the antibiotics, and that did the trick.

Okay, stop the rant…what is the moral, besides having an advocate to question in the hospital? (Even though my Mom is sharp as a tack and can fend for herself.) Everything else is petty. You get your panties in a wad over dumb stuff, assholes, nut jobs, work obligations, etc. Fuck em all. Family and life is the most important thing.

My heart goes out to all of you dealing with a loved one with cancer, or a loved one lost…or if you personally are dealing with that super biatch. I wish you all good health.

I love you, Mom.

MOM

Mom looks stylish in her hats!

P.S. In 2012 Pfizer reported over 40 billion in revenues, with a net income of 8 billion. And in 2013 Pfizer reported over 38 billion in revenues, with a net income of 19 billion. How does that work? I think we need Kirk to phaser a few at Pfizer.

And in 2013:  (I have a different C word in mind for these stats)

Pfizer CEO gets $18M, $5.6M-plus in stock gains

6 Responses to “My Mom has Cancer”


  1. February 18, 2014 at 11:14 AM

    I know exactly how you feel. I pray for a cure for this evil every day. You are correct your life will be changed forever from this; but please let it be for the better – which you may not be able to see right now. Peace to you and yours…..

    • February 18, 2014 at 11:28 AM

      Hey Professor,

      Thanks for the kind words. ANd I see the better….appreciating life more….and love of my family. Best to yours.

  2. 3 Stayce Besst
    February 18, 2014 at 1:06 PM

    Thinking of you and your Mom, Linda. I see where you get your tenacity!;) “You never know how strong you are, until being strong is your only choice”…Bob Marley. F#*k Cancer!

    • February 18, 2014 at 1:43 PM

      You beat it!!!!????

  3. 5 judypancoast@comcast.net
    February 18, 2014 at 1:11 PM

    Linda,

    I keep trying to post a reply to your blog and getting some weird message about filling out “required fields, but then I can’t find the “required fields.”  Anyway, what I wanted to say is, you’re Mom is beautiful and she’s a fighter….obviously she has passed these traits on to you.  No one can predict what will happen, but whatever does, you will be better for the time you have spent going through this together.  Love and hugs to you.

    Judy

    PS…you’re so right about the drug companies!

    Judy Pancoast

  4. February 18, 2014 at 6:26 PM

    Yes, the big C is, a beast
    stay positive, play your guitar it is healing to the soul. I as you know, going through and dealing with my own issues. I got my guitar out the other day, so sick could barely read the music. It made me forget just for awhile, just how bad I felt. I am going for a healing for your Mom. I know two people that miracles happened this week. Hang in there. She is lucky to have such a great daughter. And don’t trust all doctors or the medicine. I counted my daily meds over 20 a day. That is just horrible. I am here for you. Aloha


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Linda Chorney


All things that are CHORNEY

Linda Chorney Twitter

Linda Chorney Schedule

February 2014
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

