04
Feb
14

Phillip. Seymour. Hoffman.

I am so sad. And I had no idea of Phillip’s struggle with drugs.

Phillip Seymour Hoffman was one of my favorite actors of all time.

Although he appeared in Boogie Nights in 1997,

Boogie Nights

Boogie Nights

and then of course played a classic character role in the Big Labowski, amazing in both roles…  (and a bunch in between)

Big Labowski

Big Labowski

… I specifically remember his performance in Magnolia, as the kind, shy nurse.

That is when I realized he was without a doubt, an incredibly gifted actor, and one of the best, ever.

Magnolia

Magnolia

In all three of these roles, he played a fairly awkward character, even slightly troubled. And certainly not the classic handsome leading man.

Is that what he had hoped for? Did he want – and get the girl? Was he depressed?

PHILLIP LEADING MAN

Then he landed the Oscar-winning role as Capote. And of course, was fucking brilliant, again.

Capote

Capote

Then he seemed to be cast as the typical, wicked smart, cigarette smoking, frustrated brains behind the plot guy, like in Charilie Wilson’s War. Another superb, Oscar worthy performance.

Charlie Wilson's War

Charlie Wilson’s War

He also played a similar character in The Ides of March, opposite George Clooney…handsome leading man.

Ides Of March

Ides Of March

He had many more films, but these in particular, stick out to me. Was he not happy with the roles he was getting? Or was he just an addict? Are addicts generally unhappy people? Or do they just get addicted to something, and it just takes them over, even if they are happy?

I don’t know. I’m not an expert. But I have a feeling that he was not a happy guy. And I wonder if he wanted to end his life?

I actually mention him in the end of my book, included on my wish list of who I would like to act in my Movie, based on the book.  I’m just a huge fan. And I am very, very, sad. This is tragic news, and a huge loss.

I think one always wonders if they could have done something to save an individual…a famous person, because you think you know them from their films. Was he aware of how many people adored, respected, and craved his acting? Did that matter to him? Heroin is some nasty shit. Which character that he played was most like him?

To me, it is obvious that he was highly intelligent. And maybe a little bit of him was in all of his roles. And all of them had a certain sadness.

This photo, for some reason, captures the personality of how I imagine he was.

Who was Phillip?

Who was Phillip?

My deepest condolences to his family and friends. I mean no disrespect wondering why. He will be missed by many. He will be missed by me. Rest in Peace, Phillip Seymour Hoffman.

PHILLIP BLACK AND WHITE

1967-2014 Too young, man.

4 Responses to “Phillip. Seymour. Hoffman.”


  1. February 5, 2014 at 6:01 AM

  2. February 5, 2014 at 9:00 AM

    I have been clean for close to 26 years. I was addicted to cocaine and heroin and used both IV. I would do coke four or five days and speedball to come down. Then a few days of just smack. Then start all over again. I had one source that I got both drugs from. Both were very consistent in purity 85-95% pure. I was also never a needle sharer and was of the mindset that I knew how much I could do and notr die. I never overdosed thankfully. I credit my wife of thirty years for saving me from myself. When my son was about to be born she told me she was moving from San Diego back to Wisconsin to be closer to her family. She continued to say that she wanted me to come with her but was NOT going to subject my children or herself to watch me die. I moved in May of 1988 . I went out the week I arrived and did one line of blow. It was street crap about 20-30% pure i skipped the other line that was put out for me. I spent the next two weeks by myslef in a trailer my parents had as a vacationing place. I went through the hell of withdraw alone. I do have to say I still drink too much and smoke weed but haven’t put a needle in my arm in that 26 years. The kicker … Not a day passes that I don’t wake up and think “Man I could get jacked today” and that struggle will continue until I leave this earth. Thankfully I have remained strong and resisted the urge to boot I just hope that urge never wins the fight. RIP Phillip Seymour Hoffman.

    • February 5, 2014 at 9:34 AM

      Geoff, thank you so much for being brave enough to share your story. Can you perhaps answer the question….did you do it because you were unhappy/depressed? Or did you just like the high?

  3. February 5, 2014 at 10:38 AM

    It was all about the high.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Linda Chorney


All things that are CHORNEY

Linda Chorney Twitter

Linda Chorney Schedule

February 2014
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

