30
Jan
14

ALONE YET NOT ALONE – NOMINATED YET NOT NOMINATED

Wahhh. Someone got nominated for an Oscar for Best Original Song…who was not in the top 3 Labels. Yay!! Not so fast. The nomination was rescinded. Boooo.

At least my nomination was not “rescinded!” I only know that word from Vampire movies. So what’s the big deal this time?

Oh.

The guy, Bruce Broughton, the composer of “Alone Yet Not Alone”, was a former Governor and former head of the Academy’s music branch. I didn’t know anyone! Yay me!

He wrote his connections/voting members to ask them to listen to his song, and he got enough votes. It’s legal to do that…but, apparently, because of his position, they felt he took advantage.

Hmmm. Don’t heads of labels, and Movie Studios shmooze, have parties, and let folks know their horse is in the rat race? And pay big bucks to put big ads in publications? What’s the difference?

I went and listened to the song. Because that is really what is should come down to…Best Original Song. Was it? I dunno. But there were complaints that it took the place of more worthy tunage by Taylor Swift, and other big names.

Then of course, now I’m brought into the equation today in  The Washington Post…as one example of other ludicrous nominations. Within the title?

“controversy illustrates how playing the Hollywood game can backfire”

It was just a blurb about moi:

And this headline from the Hollywood Reporter — “How Linda Chorney Scored a Grammy Nom Without Registering a Single Album Sale” — speaks for itself. Chorney also ginned up controversy when her album, “Emotional Jukebox” was nominated for Best Americana Album in 2012. She also used social networking on the Grammy365 site, and won over enough people to get a nod. (She lost to Levon Helm.)

How snarky…“speaks for itself.” First of all, hundreds of thousands of independent musicians don’t register with soundscan. We don’t need to answer to any stinkin’ suits. We sell our albums at our shows, online…and, seriously? How many copies of Emotional Jukebox have I sold? I’m just shy of platinum!

And secondly, I certainly didn’t play any Hollywood game. (Personally, I think there are too many whack jobs in that town.)

It’s funny how this big stink is over a music category. Do the labels have them by the balls, too? I always look forward to watching the Oscars. I LOVE WATCHING THE OSCARS! And I don’t have to cover my eyes, or ears when I see the movies that are nominated, or the acting/directing/costumes, and movie stars…but at the Grammys? Well…

Could this ever happen in the Grammys? We have committees to make sure these things don’t happen…or do we? Can the people in our committees who decide the nominees be non-biased?  Have any of them ever been governors, or had positions within the organization, or labels, or relationships with artists or labels that may give them conflicting interest? Hmmm.

I must learn how to communicate with the Oscar people, so when my movie comes out, based on my book, “WHo The Fuck Is Linda Chorney” (which I will fund with all of the millions I made from Emotional Jukebox and my nomination)….maybe I can get rescinded, too!

I want an Oscar Nod next!!!  Stay tuned for my movie! I’m working on it.

20 THOUSAND FEET FROM STARDOM

P.S. Good luck to Lisa Fischer and the film she stars in, “20 Feet From Stardom!”

20 feet

0 Responses to “ALONE YET NOT ALONE – NOMINATED YET NOT NOMINATED”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Linda Chorney


All things that are CHORNEY

Linda Chorney Twitter

Facebook Fan Page

Linda Chorney Schedule

January 2014
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

