12
Dec
13

PAYING FOR YOUTUBE HITS IS BOGUS

Within my book, I discuss the importance of numbers. How many twitter followers you have, how many youtube hits you’ve garnered…and even how many albums you’ve sold.

The industry judges you on these things. It makes sense. It is a business. But there are ways of cheating. People hire companies all the time to raise their numbers.

This is clearly demonstrated in this article from Mail Online. Buhhhhs-ted!

This year it was suggested to me to pay someone to bring my latest song’s youtube hits, WHEN I SING, up. For $150 bucks – you can buy 50,000 hits.

I’m way too cheap to do that!

“Linda! If you get nominated they will bury you alive, if you only have 2,000 hits!”  I was told.

Believe it or not, I received more than 60,000 hits on my song “SINK OR SWIM” six years back. (In a bikini…not doing that anymore.) There are two versions, one has a higher resolution. That is the most hits I have ever received.

I am quite sure there are many musicians that have authentic hits and twitter followers…in the millions! Those are the authentic musicians. And so are the little guys with only a handful…but that doesn’t make them any less amazing, just not as good of a marketing team – or they haven’t received their break on a big scale.

Take these three, for instance –

This guy should be famous.

This guy should be famous.

ARLAN FEILES – To me, this guy is as good of a writer as Dylan, but his voice is that much sweeter. (And I would have submitted him for the Grammys, if they hadn’t changed the rules.)

MIKE LOVE – I fell in love with his music after the first note came out of his mouth.  I discovered his music when he submitted this year to the Grammys.

FOREST SUN AND INGRID SERBAN – Purity.

Please share this music, if any of it touches you the way it touches me.

Let’s get those numbers up!! That’s what counts.

1 Response to “PAYING FOR YOUTUBE HITS IS BOGUS”


  1. December 12, 2013 at 1:36 PM

    I was going to say I listened to “When I Sing” three times while wearing a bikini, but suspect that might not impress the NARAS panel as much as either of us hope. Just sayin.’ Happy holidays to you and Scott-have yourself a Merry Little Christmas (what? Nat King Cole Estate on line 2?)….


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Linda Chorney


All things that are CHORNEY

Linda Chorney Twitter

Linda Chorney Schedule

December 2013
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

