05
Jun
13

IS IT WORTH IT TO JOIN GRAMMY’S NOW?

This morning I received a note from a hopeful musician. She is on route to Europe and wanted my book before she left.

Here is her letter:

Hi Linda, the book arrived yesterday. Thanks! I’m trying not to start reading until I’m on the plane – otherwise I know I’ll read it non-stop right now. I do have 1 question for you – are you staying a member of the Recording Acad.? I joined in part by the inspiration of you, and I have a new album coming out which I will be submitting – the only category it vaguely fits in is Americana, of all things!

I don’t even want to submit it, after all you’ve been through, but my husband says I still should. I know I won’t be able to do the lobbying effort you put in place – it’s just something I’m doing because I have a right to do it! 

How should I respond to this? Am I rejoining The Academy?  Is my only objective to get nominated again? Well, that plan has shit the bed. As I have mentioned (and please recite this like John Belushi said, “They took the fucking bar!” in Animal House.)

They changed the fucking rules!

THEY CHANGED THE FUCKING RULES!

THEY CHANGED THE FUCKING RULES!

My membership is up this month. I wonder if they are hoping I don’t join again…most likely they don’t care either way.

But as far as your “Dear WTFI Linda” query, it is of my educated, experienced opinion, that you will be wasting your time and effort, and physical CD, postage and hopes by sending it in, now that it is no longer a democracy in all roots categories – including the top dog, coveted, “Americana”. If you ain’t inside, they locked the door and threw away the key for outsiders. They Chornified the fortress.

If your objective is not to get nominated, and just network with other hopeful indies, and even some in the loop, introducing your music to them, with the real possibility of exposure, and even opportunities for your career, go for it. But the big kahuna?  Fuhgeddaboudit.

FugheddabouditOf course there are also benefits, like Musicares. And undoubtedly, The Academy has programs for children that are lovely.

But enough about them. I’m bored with the Grammys. Back to me!

Poster Watermark

Tonight is my “Official Book Release Show,” which I saved for New Jersey, since the book was born there.

So far I have had 3 reviews. And I am 3 for 3 with thumbs up! The newest one, is by far the most thorough, and the reader/writer Tris McCall, got me hands down, although I did have to look up at least 10 big words he used! (He writes better than I do. He should write a book.)

It is from the Newark Star Ledger, with the headline “Linda Chorney autobiography is a funny, choppy, candid ride”

And in my typical defense, I did politely ask permission to most of the good guys to use their stuff – I guess I dropped the ball on Tris – but after he discovered his nice blurb in my musical memoir, he fondly forgave me.

I am not quite as forgiving for the Grammy rule change, and still on the fence whether or not I will renew my membership.

1 Response to “IS IT WORTH IT TO JOIN GRAMMY’S NOW?”


  1. June 5, 2013 at 10:34 AM

    Linda you are a amazing artist and talented
    singer-songwriter. I suggest you do submit, what you want to. They tried to back you in a corner and it didn’t work, instead you wrote a book about it. If you don’t submit, they win. I would not allow them to do that to me. Your reviews have been amazing, that there proves you are worthy of another nom. Your story shows, more then what the whole Grammy Nom, it shows courage, strength, it shows when you get knock down to get up and fight for your right’s. Those are very important life lessons, I at about to turn 56 learned through you. Your courage and kindness is so strong, you have now set the example of what all people should do in this century. We are living in hard times in this country, you have a song about. Please don’t back down now. Aloha, Hope you have so much fun tonight. Aloha Ellie


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Linda Chorney


All things that are CHORNEY

Linda Chorney Twitter

Facebook Fan Page

Linda Chorney Schedule

June 2013
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

