11
May
13

TO BE SAD…OR NOT TO BE

That is the question that torments me.

I realize there is so much good in this world. And for those of us lucky enough to experience these wonderful things, sure life is great.

But there are SO many people who get the short end of the stick, and that is putting it mildly.

There will be no humor in this blog.

What I struggle with daily is knowing how many people suffer on this planet. How much injustice there is and has been. How many souls have been tortured. How many innocent people have been killed. And how many people get away with so much. It blows my mind.

The dilemma is, will being miserable help? No.

Will being happy help? No.

Does being happy while people are being murdered, raped, beaten, screwed over by the 01%, humiliated by power, starving, suffering, sick….etc –

make me feel guilty about being happy? Yes. Sometimes.

Does this happen to you?

I watched a TED presentation this week. It was about statistics of how many females are murdered every year. “It’s A Girl”. Evan Grae Davis’ film.

It broke my heart to hear a woman confess on film that she murdered 8 of her newborns. Strangled and buried in India…because they were female.

Here is the trailer.

And what else is really fucked up is that there are 49 people that hit “unlike”. Sure it’s been seen almost a half of a million times, and liked by 1,600 and change.  Of course we all have to live with sickos. And most are good. I know that. I know that. But still….

I want to do something about it. I want to help at least one girl! Fortunately, Evan lives right here in Tucson, and we actually met during my show at the Folk Festival. So I am hoping my words can be more than words.

Then I go on facebook and see this beautiful child playing the violin in tears. And it was an uplifting story of music, sort of.

(He dies.)  And music is powerful. It is, but it’s not the answer to everything. Our hearts are in the right place when a musician writes a song.

Regardless, it really is difficult to be conscious of these atrocities and not be sad. Many of us are very lucky to be happy…to have the luxury of being happy. I think I might be envious of those who can skip around through life and be happy. What is your secret? Please share it…but even if you do, I will feel guilty for even asking. How sad is that? I’m going to do my best to make a difference.

Diego

Diego

1 Response to “TO BE SAD…OR NOT TO BE”


  1. May 11, 2013 at 6:25 PM

    I believe yes we are allowed to be sad, thiis made me cry. We the people need to live our lives by example so the ones that are not as privileged as we are can see there is hope.
    I am a victim of a rape in Red Bank, I was so young the judge had to explain things to me, then you know my health. I live by example, I try to help the people that need it the most. No always a easy task when you are disabled. We can make a difference, I promote your music because it brings me to a better place in my mind. You being the singer song writer. Me being your biggest cheerleader. HOPE, FAITH AND TO LOVE. We will set that example. Thank you for caring. I will repost the message.
    Aloha on a Beautiful Hawai’i Nei


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Linda Chorney


All things that are CHORNEY

Linda Chorney Twitter

Linda Chorney Schedule

May 2013
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

