24
Dec
11

ALL YOU NEED IS LOVE

During the holidays, the most priceless thing to receive or give is love.  (duh, like I need to preach…)

But it segues nicely into my next point.

Music isn’t always about the money.

Although I have made a modest living with my music for almost all of my adult life, I do it because I love music.  I love how much joy it can bring.  (It also can be a job, when you are looking at your watch, wondering when the next break is coming.)  But I digress….

Melodies are so powerful.  They bring you instantaneously to a place, time, feeling, and even a scent!

Growing up with the Beatles in my house, whenever I hear them now, I still think of my family.  It’s a beautiful thing.

Last year, when visiting Kenya, I had another beautiful thing happen.  And I’d like to share it with you.

After finishing recording “EMOTIONAL JUKEBOX”, My hubby, the Rock Doc, (Exec Producer), his wife Lisa, and I went to Africa.  It was a 50th birthday present for me and Lisa, from our generous men!  It was one of the things I had dreamed of doing, and now checked off my bucket list, (in the album’s booklet), although I would love to go again!

We visited a Masai Village.  This wasn’t one of those touristy ones set up.  And I learned how to say “Thanks for the porridge”.  Because they offered it to us in a little smokey hut.  And no matter what country I go to, I love to try to pick up a few words in the native language, because it’s  fun!  It’s fun to make people smile.  I get off on that!

Now during Christmas, I have had blood sausage.  But I have to admit, I passed on the porridge with the cow’s blood in this situation.  I was paranoid about….dying, although my hubby and The Rock Doc, actually ate some!  AHHHHH!  But they lived, so far.

I made up a song using the phrase…  “ah-sheh-ma-ah-lo-sha-ro”

Untitled from Linda Chorney on Vimeo.

Afterwards, I felt like the pied piper, as the word spread of this silly white woman, with her pants tucked into her socks, (because I am a bit OCD…of all of the cow dung and mud, and I was only traveling with 2 pairs of pants for the month!) who sings and dances funny.

I asked if the women and children could sing to us.  They did.  And they giggled.  It was lovely.

Then, I dunno, I just had this inkling to teach them a Beatles’ song.   In it went a little somethin’ like this…

Masi Village All You Need Is Love with Linda Chorney from Linda Chorney on Vimeo.

This was one of the most precious performances I have ever had, and the most charming band!  Did I get paid?  Of course not.  Did I sell any albums?  Of course not…I gave some away.  Was I looking at my watch?  Nope.  Loved every minute of it.  Was it a prestigious venue?  The most!

That feeling was as satisfying as seeing my name on the Nomination list for Best Americana on the 54th Grammys.  (Well, okay, maybe not quite as satisfying, but it was an awesome moment I will never forget.)

Merry Christmas, Happy Chanukkah, (Spell that any way you’d like!), Happy Quanza. Feliz Navidad, Hijrah, Visakah Puja, Holy Day, or whatever floats your boat…and Festivus For the Restofus!

All You Need Is Love,

Linda

1 Response to “ALL YOU NEED IS LOVE”


  1. December 24, 2011 at 11:18 AM

    Your words of experiences with the smiling Masai kids defines the holidays as good as anything I’ve seen and read…I’ll even go as far to categorize the joy in those videos as similar to the Christmas morning scene with Alastair Sim as Scrooge in a ‘Christmas Carol.’ Thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Linda Chorney


All things that are CHORNEY

Linda Chorney Twitter

Linda Chorney Schedule

December 2011
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

