22
Nov
11

Forrest, Forrest Gump

When one of those rare movies comes around that is so outstanding that you want to wait a good year or two before you see it again, so you can relive the thrill, and emotion, and pure joy; and then you do, well, “Forrest Gump” is one of those gems.

I just finished watching it for, gee, it must be closed to the 10th time?  And I cried, I smiled, I got all fuzzy inside.

There are not enough films like Forrest Gump.

Is it unbelievable?  Sure. Is it unbelievably entertaining?  For sure.

Films that cover a large span of time take each and everyone of us on our own separate journey through our own lives.

Tonight, in particular, there was a scene with Bob Hope.  I got sad for a moment.  I thought about how many people have died during my lifetime.  And I officially felt old.

But old is as old does.  And I am not ready to surrender the youth flag.

Damn,  I had no plan on this blog taking a left turn.  And here I am talking about aging.

Let me change the subject.  Lot’s of people were shot in the movie.  Not with film, but with bullets.

Wallace, JFK and Bobby, Reagan, and John Lennon.  Not to mention all of the non – famous soldiers.  It’s now more than 15 years since this film was made, and gun laws are still too lenient.  It made me think of Gabby.  So, I got sad again.

Hearing “Freebird”, and watching Jenny do coke, going from Hippie to Disco fashion.  That snapped me out of the sad mood!

“Seat’s taken!”  I use that line all the time.  When someone is approaching to sit next to me somewhere.  And I say it with a strong Southern Accent.  (And I hope they figure out that I am quoting from FG!)

Which And then watching the scene where the first black college students were aloud to enter in the South….

(1957  – President Dwight D. Eisenhower sends federal troops to ensure integration of the all-white Central High School in Little Rock, Ark. The Little Rock Nine were the first black students to attend the school.)
Although that was a few years before the birth of moi, it blew my mind, that in my lifetime, there was segregation!  What the fuck?
We’ve come far, but still not far enough.  And it made me smile to know in that same lifetime, we elected an Afro-American for President of the United States!  Now let’s get a woman!  (Yeah, I know, some of you are bitching in your head right now about Obama….whatever.)

Moving right along…

The superb acting of Tom Hanks.  Bosom Fricken Buddies!  

That’s almost as much on the growth curve as President Obama coming from a history where a half black/half white person was not allowed to drink at the same water fountain as 100% whitee!

(Although, I loved Bosom Buddies!)  Ya got to start somewhere.  Hanks in drag!  How about a gay President?  Ooh!  How about a Black, Chinese, Jewish, Lesbian President?

And I have to end somewhere.  So, I will just wrap this up.  Just a timeless, great movie.  The power of that film, reminds me of my song “Cherries”, if I may take this opportunity to plug the similarity.  Anyone who listens to the lyrics, takes a journey through their own personal life.  And the same thing happens in “Forrest Gump”, (As long as you are over 40!)  But my song only takes 6 minutes to go through your life’s trip!  No passport needed!

Maybe over Thanksgiving you and the family can watch Forrest.  And serve shrimp cocktail, or shrimp mashed potatoes, shrimp puffs, shrimp and pumpkin pie…

Adored this film since 1994, and it certainly deserved the 6 Oscars it received.  And I loved it as much last night.

(And if you are younger, and you watch it with your folks, or Grandparents, it is a great opportunity to ask them questions about U.S. History.  (Or if you are older, just voluntarily share!)  In fact, I asked my Mom and Dad yesterday more about segregation, the shooting of Wallace, etc.   They knew the details as if it were yesterday.  So a nice way to spend some quality time really TALKING to your family!  And then eat left-overs!  Yeay!)

2 Responses to “Forrest, Forrest Gump”


  1. November 22, 2011 at 12:48 PM

    Used Marcus’s alter football personna for legless part of story.Really cracked me up anyway.Should have put my name on that treatment! Jody

  2. November 22, 2011 at 1:23 PM

    Yes, Tom Hanks. And Bosom Fricken Buddies! That was a great show and I love “Gump” (“Have you found Jesus?….. “I didn’t know I was supposed to be looking for him”). Anything Tom Hanks does is always top-notch, quality stuff – I’m thinking here of “That Thing You Do” (he wrote it) and “Cast Away.” “Philadelphia” too. Love him. Thanks for the post, as always. Happy Thanksgiving! – Craig

    (Of course we also remember what happened today, 48 years ago in Dallas where I grew up….)


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Linda Chorney


All things that are CHORNEY

Linda Chorney Twitter

Linda Chorney Schedule

November 2011
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

