31
Aug
11

MY 1ST GRAMMY SUBMISSION!

I just want to share my excitement!

My 6th Album,(my first Double Album) was submitted today for the 54th Grammy Awards.

I know it’s a “Hail Mary”.  But what the heck.

“EMOTIONAL JUKEBOX”, released in January is competing in several categories.

1) ALBUM OF THE YEAR  (Watch out McCartney!)

2) SONG OF THE YEAR – “Cherries”

3) ALBUM  AMERICANA ALBUM OF THE YEAR

4) BEST R&B SONG – “Broken Promise Land”

5) BEST COUNTRY SONG – “I’m Not Gonna”

(I’m so Country.)

6) BEST ARRANGEMENT/COMPOSER 1 –

“Mother Nature’s Symphony”

7)BEST ARRANGEMENT/COMPOSER 2  “Mother’s Little Helper”

If it was a bet in Vegas?  The Long Shot.

8) BEST BLOGGING SINGER THAT DROPS TOO MANY F BOMBS? (At least I have a shot at winning that one.)

But Executive Producer, The Rock Doc, Jonathan Schneider, took the chance, and bet it all!

Short Story –

I was performing in Aspen, Co. 2003.  This guy comes up to me and says, “You are really great!  I know what it’s like to struggle as a musician.  I’d like to send you some gear. I’m also a Doctor.”

I’m thinking, “Who is this guy?”  Gave him my P.O. Box…

And sure enough, a couple of weeks later, he sent me a wireless mic and guitar pick up.

Wow.  Pretty cool and generous.  And NO ulterior motive.

Fast Forward to 2010.  We are best buds.  He’s like my long lost goofy brother.  And he has a heart of Gold.

He says to me, “Linda, I want you to make the dream album you were never able to make before.”

(On my other albums, one hand on the guitar, the other in my pocket, pulling out every last cent, and both eyes on the clock.  Can be stressful.)

The Rock Doc gave me the biggest budget I have ever had.  He hired the greatest musicians available to man.  He lined up the best studios…(Same as Paul, for those of you that followed past articles!)

What did he want in return?  To make a great album.

With his help, love and passion for music, and the extraordinary talent of artists with Grammys on their mantle’s!  Click on each name if you want to see their credits…(a little more famous than I am…a lot.)  Here is just a bit of the cast of Superstars!

Lisa Fischer – Best known for The Rolling Stones!

Shawn Pelton – SNL

Will Lee – CBS David Letterman

Bashiri Johnson – EVERYONE!

Jeff Pevar – CSN

Leon Pendarvis – SNL

To the Rock Doc with the Heart of Gold:  We haven’t gone gold, not even silver, or copper.  Maybe Aluminum.  But what were the odds that you would ski down a mountain and bump into me?  Probably greater than getting the Grammy, but who cares.  It was a great run!

Thank you Jonathan!

To hear the album:   http://www.lindachorney.com/FinalHTMLS/music.html

5 Responses to “MY 1ST GRAMMY SUBMISSION!”


  1. September 1, 2011 at 8:48 PM

    Hey Linda, I wanted to listen to some music, but couldn’t find the play button — saw your post in SMM Promotions Group

    • September 1, 2011 at 10:10 PM

      Go to lindachorney.com

  2. December 1, 2011 at 12:40 PM

    I love it that you were nominated! SO PROUD OF YOU!

  3. 4 justinakg
    April 10, 2013 at 10:38 PM

    Fantastic website. Plenty of useful information here.
    I am sending it to some pals ans also sharing in delicious.
    And certainly, thanks to your sweat!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Linda Chorney


All things that are CHORNEY

Linda Chorney Twitter

Linda Chorney Schedule

August 2011
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

