19
Dec
11

MY LETTER TO LEFSETZ

Hello Gorgeous! (Please imagine Barbra Streisand‘s voice for proper effect.)

I thought long and hard before hitting the send button on this one. Ya know that moment…hmm, should I? You’re the president of your Universe, finger hovering over the red button. What will the repercussions be?  Oh well, here comes the finger… BOOOM!

Now that I have been nominated for Best Americana Album – “Emotional Jukebox”, people are all of a sudden trying to handle me. No one can handle a 51 year old woman!

The thing is, this 51 year old woman has worked long and hard to get this recognition in her career. And there are many others out there trying to do the same, like Bobby Messano and Lee Paris, to name a couple I heard on Grammy 365 that didn’t make the next round. I just got lucky.

http://www.cohesionarts.com/2011/12/linda-chorney/

It would be one thing if you listened to my album, and wrote about the music, even if you didn’t care for it. But instead you toss in a blurb that fits in with your Louis C.K. piece, (who I am a huge fan of), and try to discredit me?

And because I do read your blog, I was a bit disappointed. I am confused. I thought you were all about the Independent Artists? You don’t get more independent than I am. I don’t even have an Indi Label. It’s the corporation of me, myself and I. And I’m not sure you thought long and hard before writing what you did about me, and the repercussions it might have, right at the same time the voting process is going on, and how it might influence others that have not heard “Emotional Jukebox.”

Now, I shall attach what I wrote the day I read your blog: Here goes…

You read a couple of press articles while on vacation, in Vail, ironically where I played hundreds of shows, and am performing while you are actually here this week, and you write that I may have “Gamed” the system?

http://www.vaildaily.com/ARTICLE/20111216/AE/111219858/-1/RSS

On what basis? (And what the heck is gaming the system anyway?)

I am not angry here, (well maybe a little), I am just addressing how you are depicting the Grammy 365 community, NARAS, and Independent Artists.

And I quote from your post:

http://lefsetz.com/wordpress/index.php/archives/2011/12/15/louie-ck/

"2. It's all about your tribe. Without a fan base, without an audience, Louis C.K.'s Beacon video would have fallen on deaf ears. You can pay a publicist to get you on "Entertainment Tonight", just don't expect anybody to care. People still believe if you can just cross that threshold, you're in the club. And the way to get there is by signing a deal with a major or working the publicity angle so damn hard that everybody knows you and you're made. But you're not. 
Linda Chorney may have gamed the Grammy system, may have even gotten a bit of mainstream publicity, 
but is anybody listening to her music, has she gained any real fans? 
No. So she can post her nomination certificate on her wall, has a story to tell, but she's moved the ball not an inch as an artist.  It's easy to be famous. It's hard to have fans."

"Is anybody listening to her music, No?" I guess that's partially correct... You haven't.
Explain to me how an Independent Artist with no label, team, publicist, or backing may have "gamed" the system?
(I can't even figure out how to use my damn remote for the tv!)
Just because an unknown has not sold X amount of albums, is there no value to the music?

Do you think the opinions of all NARAS Members who voted for me are invalid?

Do musicians, engineers, writers, and composers not have as good of an ear?

Do you feel that an independent artist should not have the right to be heard?

Have I gained any real fans?

Who do you think voted for me?

Do you think it is wise to mess with a woman going through menopause?!!

No Sir, I did not game the system. And neither do the rest of the Independent Artists on Grammy 365.

I am truly honored and thrilled to have been nominated in Americana with the amazing artists Emmylou Harris, Lucinda Williams, Ry Cooder, and Levon Helm, in a category that has also included 4 of my idols, Robert Plant, Rosanne Cash, Willie Nelson, and Bob Dylan.

All of us that are Indie Artists joined Grammy 365 in hopes that we might be heard. That we might be considered.

And one of them, who happens to be me, Linda Chorney, gets a nomination, so therefore it must be some kind of trick?

And I take from your quote above almost in the same breath as you dissed me:

"Without a fan base, without an audience, Louis C.K.'s Beacon video would have fallen on deaf ears."

Because of Grammy 365, my album EMOTIONAL JUKEBOX did not fall upon deaf ears.

They listened.

"So she can post her nomination certificate on her wall, has a story to tell, but she's moved the ball not an inch as an artist.  It's easy to be famous. It's hard to have fans."

It's easy to be a critic. It's hard to do your homework.

Thanks for the mention. I would love to send you my CD. I'll even sign it for ya! Perhaps gain another fan!

A wise woman sent me this after reading your blog...this probably would have been enough...but I am having too much fun!

Bob, Babs. Babs, Bob.

X,O Grammy Nominee, Linda Chorney



11 Responses to “MY LETTER TO LEFSETZ”


  1. December 19, 2011 at 7:38 AM

    YOU ROCK MY BUDDY LINDA!!!!! GO GET THIS FRIGGIN’ STATUE FO ALL OF US!!!

  2. December 19, 2011 at 7:45 AM

    thats pretty crappy. there are always those critics who need to be the turd in the punch bowl. but, you have their attention now so you will get people taking shots at you for no good reason.
    ur a freakin grammy nominee! it dont get much cooler than that! :-)

  3. December 19, 2011 at 7:57 AM

    Go for it Linda! Lefsetz was not simply incorrect in what he stated… it is hypocritical of what he preaches. He has some explaining to do… R

  4. December 19, 2011 at 8:14 AM

    I say good for you Linda ! It’s impossible for me to express how pumped I am for Linda to be up for a Grammy. This is not the People’s Choice Awards! This is the Grammy’s which is not about popular choice or album sales. This is about hard work, talent, passion, dedication,and applying all of that to make a fantastic album, which in my mind best represents what Linda Chorney brings to the music scene. I have seen Linda play in Asbury at a private party, at Count Basie, at Salt Creek and I have sang with her on a couple of occasions. She is a true Rocker….a true musician! When you go to see Linda play, she pours her heart and soul into her music and it’s never the same show. She is authentic and that is exactly why she is up for a Grammy. My hope is that she wins and the commercial success she deserves, finally comes her way. And guess what? If it doesn’t I am fairly certain she will be just fine. Keep strumming Linda! – Karl Gordinier

  5. December 19, 2011 at 8:53 AM

    Linda,

    WOW! Bob really dissed you? That’s friggin unbelievable ( well not for him as he is so inconsistent he can;t even remember his own rules or “so called rules”). Seriously, said put in your “10,000 hours” , shit, I think you lapped that at least 4 times already. He syas “stay true to your music”… Well, no one is truer than you (even when you are brash and not PC). He says ” dont sell out”…well…we know you didn’t do that..hahaha! He says ” build a fan base over years of hard work, not like these internet You Tube overnight sensations”…Seems to me that is exactly you. ( I could go on and on )

    So Bob, you are in Vail 0 that;s my hometown. That’s Colorado where Real Men do what they say and when you are full of BS, we call ya out on it. I’M CALLING YOU OUTR ON IT BOB! Think on that comment real had again…then take a few minutes between runs and maybe listen to the music…. THEN write a real opinion, not one just to get you something to get “filler” for an article. She is REAL – Like her or not!

    Seriously, don’t falsely disrespect.- Otherwise, pack up your s@!*^ and get outta my town.

    Granger (Teeple) Whitelaw
    Vail, since 1966

  6. December 19, 2011 at 11:10 AM

    I’m really gonna need people to stop being to friggin’ STUPID. SERIOUSLY. Gaming the system?! I didn’t even know that was possible.
    AND even if you DID, it would be nice for that idiot to give us some evidence. At least critique the music? What WAS that diatribe? I don’t get it. I bet he doesn’t either.
    He should sit on a rust nail and spin on it.

  7. 7 marlashane
    December 19, 2011 at 1:15 PM

    Linda,
    I’ve spent a good part of the morning reading the background stuff behind your Grammy nomination and all I have to say about it is… Congratulations! You are trying to disrupt what seems like another corrupt political system – and that in itself is EPIC enough. But besides all that, your last album bleeds sincerity. Something missing in so much music I am forced to listen to (because the artist is “popularized” and so everything they do MUST be heralded).

    I’ll be honest. I don’t like all your songs. But I don’t like all of the Beatles songs either! This last album, however, has some real gems: “Cherries” and also “Do It While You Can.”

    Your energy is inspirational,

    Cheers,

  8. December 19, 2011 at 2:10 PM

    Linda- Congrats on your excellent response to an uninformed Mr. BL. You are a class act and I am proud to be a supporter.

  9. December 19, 2011 at 5:38 PM

    You got at least one new fan since the nomination, me. So he’s wrong on that score, too.

    Win on not, you’ve already earned the respect of musicians, audiences, and assorted hangers-on. Remember in my first note to you I said I loved your music and your politics? Now I love your spirit!

    BOB: Dissing a woman who is entering menopause? That’s dangerous shit, man. I’ve been married for 31 years to a red-headed Irish woman, so I speak from experience. You better apologize. Actually, you should apologize because you were wrong. Time to eat crow.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Linda Chorney


All things that are CHORNEY

Linda Chorney Twitter

Linda Chorney Schedule

December 2011
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,500 other followers